Books

2019 Reading Challenge: Updates.

2019 was a great bookish year for me. I was intentional and consistent with reading. The experience has made me an emphatic individual with a sharpened sense of viewing the world. I’m most grateful for July and October theme which centered on the LGBTQIA community and mental health respectively. I had to unlearn certain myths and stereotypes against them. The only thing I didn’t do was giving reviews about them on the blog. But, those on my Whatsapp will testify to bite sized updates on my status.

At Late Eze Okpoko 1 of Oba Palace.

At a point, I created the Reader’s interview in order to have someone to discuss the book with. Regrettably though, the series will end this year. Shout outs to my amazing reading partners. You can always read their interviews. They made reading less lonely.

Here’s a list of what I read in 2019

  • January – Atomic Habits by James Clear
  • February – The Love and Valentine Anthologies published by Brittle paper.
  • March – Sun and her flowers by Rupi Kaur.
  • April – I didn’t read anything related to the theme😥
  • May – Kabu Kabu by Nnedi Okoroafor.
  • June – Gay girl, good God By Jackie Hill Perry and 14: An anthology of queer arts published by Brittle paper.
  • July – Under the Udala Tree by Chinelo Okparanta.
  • August- Things Fall apart by Chinua Achebe.
  • September – 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. The Reader Interview started on this month.
  • October – I’m telling the truth but I’m lying by Bassey Ikpi
  • November – Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon
  • December – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.

Year 2020 is gonna be so much fun. The reading list is tailored towards making me or rather us better university students. There’ll be themes like financial literacy, entrepreneurship, internships etc. So, if you’ll be interested and willing to invest your time, let me know in the comment section. I’ll let you know when the challenge is out.

So, how was your bookish 2019 like?🤗

Leave a comment