Books

The Undergraduate Mentor| An Interview with Somtoochukwu Ezioha, Founder of The Zenpens

After reading a book on coming up with creative ideas, it’s only apt that we talk about writing down these creative ideas and turning them into flash fictions, short stories and poems etc.

Somtoochukwu Benedict Ezioha is a writer and chemist. He’s also the founder of The Zenpens, the fastest rising literature blog in Nigeria

He’ll be my third guest on The Undergraduate Mentor Series. We’ll be having a conversation on writing and everything related.

You are welcome Somtoo. Thank you for having this discussion with us.

Thank you. I’m glad to be here.

Can you please introduce yourself?

I’m Somtoochukwu Benedict Ezioha, a writer, graduate of Biochemistry. I co-founded The Zenpens last year with a friend of mine.

That’s wonderful. What prompted you into it?

Okay. Right from my childhood, I’ve always loved literature-stories to be precise. I remember that when I was young, I would spend time reading stories in the Bible, instead of focusing on my academics. So I guess in retrospect, I’m not surprised to end up in the writing world. I studied Biochemistry, yes, but I never knew what I wanted to do with my life till I started writing. Although The Zenpens isn’t the first literature blog we started, I’m glad it’s turning out well.




Your consistency finally paid off. So, how does your blog assist young writers?

To be honest, I never knew that there were so many young writers with amazing talents, especially in Nigeria till The Zenpens started. It’s still a marvel to me. So on the part of assisting young writers, we have a Writers Community, which is aimed at helping writers who are on the platform to grow. We have a lot of activities that are aimed at growing these writers. We have another program on the works, but that, I’m afraid, is confidential at this point.

What will you say about young writers trying to imitate their role model’s work?

Well, I would say that it’s nice to have a role model. But then try to be yourself. Write how you feel, do not imitate anyone. You are unique and so is your voice. Don’t hide that voice under anyone’s shadow. I usually tell people that even if all the stories man can tell has been told, they haven’t been told by you.

Valid point. Who are your biggest influences and why?

Well, I would say that the writers on the The Zenpens platform have influenced me so much over the past year. I’ve learnt a lot from them, ranging from patience, to humility, to consistency. I’ve learnt how to handle different people, how to write better and how to grow.

You discover a beautiful island upon which you build your own society. What is the first rule you put in place?

Everyone is entitled to an opinion. I think that inasmuch as we believe that freedom of speech is in the constitution, many people still belittle others because of the opinions they hold dear.

And that’s the end of the interview. Thank you Somtoochukwu Benedict Ezioha for an engaging discussion.

I’m glad to have been here.

For writers and readers in the group, you can join and submit your short stories, poems, articles etc for publication at The Zenpens